I suppose it’s genetic then?

If it is selfish for a couple
not to have offspring
then I wonder why so many
choose to have their own
instead of adopting
children who so desperately need
a home from foster care?

Notes: This was written in response to a rant I read of a newly engaged woman who decided childless married couples were being selfish. I hope people get married for the sake of love and not just for children. Whether you choose to have children or not, or whether that choice is taken from you, I do not judge.

Author: redgladiola

Creative writer happily predisposed to flights of fancy. You can find my poetry and short prose at https://redgladiola.wordpress.com

19 thoughts on “I suppose it’s genetic then?”

  1. the pope was quoted as saying that couples who choose to have no children were selfish.
    this from a cadre of red, purple and white shrouded old men who’ve taken vows of celibacy… to be unselfish.
    Ludacris.
    -mike

    1. The woman quoted the pope, too. Ridiculous. But I think all religious leaders encourage their believers to multiply, because who else is going to listen? It increases the congregation, the coffers, and their influence. Selfish indeed.

  2. Powerful poem!!
    When I was in high school I used to dream of someday adopting 4 older children who no one else wanted.
    Later I made the decision to be childless. My reasons were complex and deeply personal — none of my reasons were about selfishness.
    Then I changed my mind and desperately wanted to become pregnant. It wasn’t possible for me. And because of my health issues, fostering or adopting are not options.
    Again, your poem is very powerful. I am glad that you wrote it. 🙂

    1. I’m sorry children weren’t an option for you. So often, people judge others for being childless without knowing the full story. I, too, don’t have any children. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

